Annual Society Dinner – 2019

November 22, 2019

The Annual Society Dinner was held in the Gallagher on Saturday 16 November with over 240 people in attendance with Kelvyn Eglinton from Momentum Waikato MCing the night. VIPs attending the event included Sir William and Lady Judy Gallagher, John Gallagher, Hon Damien O’Connor, Hon Barbara Kuriger, Waipa Mayor Jim Mylchreest, past Presidents of the Society and Life Members.

Event theming for the night was around sustainability with decorations featuring fence banners, tote bags and other recycled items. The plants that also decorated the tables have been replanted around the Agricultural Heritage Village.

Society Volunteer coordinator Traci Bevan spoke of the night, “It was a wonderful night of celebration and recognition of not only our amazing staff and volunteers through Membership Pins, Volunteer Recognition Awards and Service Awards, but also external organisations including Mobile Health and the Rural Youth and Adult Literacy Trust.”

Membership pins – awarded to new members who have completed one full year and volunteered at two Society events. Pins were awarded to Alexandra Perry, Brian Reid, Bruce Maxwell, Chris Kay, David Kemp, Emma Jordan, Eunice Hay, Helen Millward, Jacqui Wellington, John Marcon, Meg Bacchus, Michelle Perry, Rachael Kennedy ,Rowland Ambler, and Thea Wood

Pictured L-R David Kemp, John Marcon, Michelle Perry, Alexandra Perry, Chris Kay, Brian Reid, Bruce Maxwell Eunice Hay, Rachael Kennedy, Thea Wood, Helen Millward, Jacqui Wellington, Emma Jordan

Volunteer recognition awards – recognise and reward outstanding service to the Society, outside of fieldays and Equidays over the previous year. Volunteer Recognition awards were given to Brian Roberts, Chris Humphrey, Dawood Latif, Frank Sargent, Ezra Pribicevich, Gordon Vernon, John Marcon, John Moody, Kerry Clarkin, Mark Bacchus, Meg Bacchus, Owen Turner, Sandra Wrigley, and Susan Henderson

Pictured L-R John Marcon, Gordon Vernon, Owen Turner, Kerry Clarkin, John Moody, Frank Sargent, Brian Roberts, Sandra Wrigley, Susan Henderson

Service award – recognises and appreciates ongoing service and contribution to the Society. Recipients included Beth Jobin, Gordon Vernon, Graeme Mead, Izzie MacDonald, John Hoyle, Ken Ballantyne, Mark Bacchus, Peter Anderson, Stacey Kemp, and Trevor Preece

Pictured L-R John Hoyle, Ken Ballantyne, Gordon Vernon, Beth Jobin, and Stacey Kemp

Team of the year award – previously known as the section award, recognizes performance and professionalism among our committees up to and during the Fieldays event. It now also considered all teams involved in any event owned by the Society. this years team of the year award was given to the Hub Kitchen team.

Pictured L-R Treasure McKinstry, Gordon Vernon, Jenni Vernon, Alison Nation, Janice Williams

Charitable Donation – earlier this year the Society’s volunteers, staff and members were asked to vote on which of three charities were most deserving of a significant donation. The money donated represented the hours of work put in by our volunteer team during our Society events. For 2019 this was awarded to the Rural Youth and Adult Literacy Trust.

Pictured: Jo Poland, Society CEO Peter Nation, and Barry O’Donnell

Rimmington Award – recognises outstanding service to Fieldays from an external person or organisation. This year the award was given to Mobile Health.

Pictured: Mark Eager (from Mobile Health) and Russ Rimmington

John Kneebone Volunteer of the Year award – prestigious award named after one of the Society’s founding fathers designed to honour an individual who has contributed at an extraordinary level of dedication to the Society. Nominees included Alan Sharp, CJ Collingwood, David Kemp, Dawood Latif, Frank Sargent, Ray Shearer, Sandra Wrigley, Stacey Kemp. The winner of this award was Frank Sargent.

Pictured: Hon. Damien O’Connor, Frank Sargent, Peter Carr